CAMTP home
Center for Applied Mathematics and Theoretical Physics
University of Maribor, Slovenia

European Advanced Studies Conferences

The European Advanced Studies Conferences have been initiated by Priv.-Doz. Dr. Andreas Ruffing of the Munich University of Technology and Professor Marko Robnik of CAMTP, University of Maribor, Slovenia. Later on (at Novacella 2003) also Professor Tassos Bountis of the University of Patras, Greece, has joined them. They are the main coordinators of the entire series of conferences, whilst the main organizer of each event always is the local organizer, as the main director. The beginning was just a series of independent small size conferences, and as the success and the tradition evolved we decided to give them a name, and started to think systematically about their future profile. The main characteristic is the scientific high level and the European dimensions.

Currently the Members of the Board of Directors are:

Professor Dr. Tassos Bountis, University of Patras, Greece
Professor Dr. Saber Elaydi, Trinity University, San Antonio, USA
Professor Dr. Siegfried Grossmann, University of Marburg, Germany
Professor Dr. Francisco Marcellan, Universidad Carlos III de Madrid, Spain
Professor Dr. Marko Robnik, University of Maribor, CAMTP, Slovenia
Priv.-Doz. Dr. Andreas Ruffing, Munich University of Technology, Germany

The first one was in Bexbach, Germany, in October 2000, the second one was in Otocec, Slovenia, in October 2001, the third one was in Trakoscan, Croatia, in May 2002, and Novacella (May 2003) is the fourth one on the following list:

2000 EASC1 Bexbach, Germany
2001 EASC2 Otocec, Slovenia
2002 EASC3 Trakoscan, Croatia
2003 EASC4 Novacella, Italy
2004 EASC5 Patras and Ancient Olympia, Greece
2005 EASC6 Maribor, Slovenia
2006 EASC7 Homburg, Germany
2014 EASC8 Homburg/Saar, Germany

The EAS Conferences are meant to be small size conferences, concentrating on variety of topics in theoretical physics and mathematics, but strongly interdisciplinary, mainly in the fields of nonlinear dynamics, synergetics and complex systems.

They are characterized by the four basic principles:

  1. High level science, which is reflected in the names of the main invited speakers, the plenary speakers, and also of other participants.
  2. European spirit, not only within the frame of European Union, but rather the entire Europe, that is what we might call European House. This is intended not to unite against somebody outside Europe, but to unite in the mutual respect of all European cultures.
  3. Special attention to young scientists, promoting them in a friendly atmosphere, to enable them to present their scientific work, results, and get in touch with colleagues internationally, to receive some new inspirations.
  4. Financial independence, in the sense that each time, for each EAS Conference, we find funds from another institution, thus not being dependent too much on a particular institution or government, and certainly not on a special political movement. This ensures our intellectual, scientific and cultural liberties. Here the role of the local organizer, the main director, to provide the basic funding, is essential.
The European Advanced Studies Conferences thus have already quite respectable tradition. Our main ideology, again, is "excellent science and culture in united Europe", not just European Union. We do believe that this is becoming some kind of a movement. It is also one step further towards making science depend on governments as little as possible.

CAMTP home
Last modified: 3 Sep 2014 by Marko Robnik
CAMTP home